Dementia: Early Morning Reminiscing

Maureen came into her own very early this morning after spending most of yesterday catching up on sleep.  She loved looking at some old family photographs that her sister had sent us several years ago.  The one above is my favourite of the big sister of the family with her siblings.

I often think I have turned into a One Trick Pony relying on music to fill our day.  I’m hoping that sifting through these photographs, and many others that are tucked away, will provide hours of happy memories and even lead to some life story work.

If Maureen was in a Care Home now I would say ‘she is settling in’.  She seems to think we have been on holiday together for the last two weeks and says it would be nice to visit Cleethorpes when the weather improves.  Her recollection of happy family holidays here are one of the dominant memories of her childhood.

1 thought on “Dementia: Early Morning Reminiscing

Leave a comment