Dementia: We Will Miss Glen Campbell

I needed a song for Maureen this morning as she feels deserted by her family.  She knows that they are all busy but can’t understand the lack of meaningful contact.

Every morning I sing her songs to Maureen’s to let her know how much she means to me. Today, knowing that Glen Campbell had just passed away I searched amongst our vinyl for an appropriate song from him.  Our records are not in alphabetical order and I was just about to give up when I found this number on a Country Album:

My Admiral Nurse has always encouraged me to fight winnable battles and I have now accepted that trying to get family members to change their ways is a lost cause.  My focus has shifted to telling Maureen how much she means to me and Glen did the trick this morning.

I would like to pass on my sincere thanks to Glen’s family for sharing their journey so openly.  The following number epitomises the brave way they all faced dementia:

 

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in Mixed Dementia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dementia: We Will Miss Glen Campbell

  1. dbb34 says:

    So pleased that Glen was such a help today.

    Family members mean well but they each have their own ideas of how to care for their loved ones. It is easy to get on with your own life when you are not immersed as the carer is.

    Just keep going as you have been.

    Like

Leave a Reply

