Dementia: I Hope It’s A UTI

Image result for I hope It's A UTI Dementia Picture

I’m posting this blog shortly after midnight.   I woke a short time ago to find Maureen standing in the kitchen talking to a vacuum cleaner that she has wrapped in a blanket. Several assessments will take place later on this morning to try to establish what is behind significant changes in her presentation that began to emerge yesterday.

Once again, I count my blessings that we live in North East Lincolnshire where telephone assistance is available 24/7.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed that a UTI and lack of sleep are behind her presentation.  I’m also hoping that the little girl in our vacuum cleaner continues to provide Maureen with comfort.

Updates will follow

 4.20 am  I’m hoping that a Mental Health Nurse from The Konar Suite will be here shortly to assess whether medication might help to calm Maureen down – I have never seen her like this before!

4.40 am  Just received confirmation from the Mental Health Nurse that Rapid Response is on the way to conduct a physical assessment of Maureen.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in Mixed Dementia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dementia: I Hope It’s A UTI

  1. Gill Butchard says:

    Ours is a little lad!

    Like

Leave a Reply

