Dementia: Distract and Redirect With Helium

This morning I have used helium to distract and redirect Maureen.  Half an hour into her birthday she was crying that she wanted her mum.  I tried to console her for a while before encouraging her to seek further sleep.

Once she was in the land of the nod I fetched a helium filled balloon with ‘Happy Birthday’ on it from my car.  She stirred when I came back in the house and was very pleased to be reminded that it was her birthday.  I then decided to begin the birthday celebrations by calling up appropriate songs on YouTube.

The early morning birthday party continued for a couple of hours.  I’m not sure how we will spend the rest of the day.  I have suggested visiting family but her understandable reaction has been: ‘why should I go and see them, they should be coming to see me?’

I very flattered by Maureen’s thoughts that she just wants to spend the day with me.  However, I hope we are able to catch up with some people who are never too busy to show Maureen how much they love her!

Footnote: I have blanked out Maureen’s face following safeguarding advice.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in Mixed Dementia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

