Dementia: Sleeping To Deal With Boredom

When I called to see mum today she was asleep in a chair in the lounge of her Care Home. She looked so.peaceful I decided not to wake her. When I told the.Manager I would come back later later she said she will be asleep then. She also explained that she sleeps because she is bored so she woke her. She also told me how important it was for Mum to drink her cup of tea.

It too me a few minutes to deal with mum’s ¬†boredom with tunes on YouTuse from Frank and Nat. Mum was a revelation singing along to some old favourites tapping her feet and fluttering her eyes. It brought tears to my eyes to see the transition: mum alive and kicking rather than driven to sleep by boredom.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

