Dementia: Combination Therapy

Image result for Natural Remedies for Low Mood picture

Maureen seems rather down at the moment which isn’t at all surprising when you consider what she has to contend with as dementia marches relentlessly on.  Therefore, I have introduced some tried and tested natural remedies for improving memory, lifting mood and regaining contact with family:

  • I have replaced rosemary sprigs all over the house as they had lost their aroma.
  • I have put orange peel in the lounge to add a positive fragrance to the room.
  • I have massaged and placed a heated wheat bag on Maureen’s left foot as it is always cold.
  • I have booked her a home pedicure and manicure for 2 pm this afternoon.
  • I  have booked a chauffeur driven day out on Saturday so we can reconnect with  Maureen’s  family.

Follow the links underlined above for references on the effectiveness of these remedies: only time will tell how well Maureen responds to this combination therapy.

There will be further combination therapy taking place at 11 am this morning when I meet with our Key Worker to review our Care Plans.  I’m not convinced that more of the same is required: we need to consider some significant changes to our Care Plans to ensure that they remain person-centred.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in Mixed Dementia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dementia: Combination Therapy

  1. AmazingSusan says:

    May I come to life at your place? Sounds very much like a spa 😉

    Like

    • Remember Me says:

      Please get on the next plane Susan but I may not be here. Maureen wants to summon the police as I am keeping her a prisoner so she can’t go home. I’ve tried everything I know and it’s making no difference. It looks like I will have to leave her to rant if this continues for much longer. Never mind a spa this stinks at the moment!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

