Dementia: Thank Goodness For 256256

I do not know what I would do without our Single Point of Access ( tel:256256).  This morning they have helped me once again.  Shortly after 6 ‘o’clock,  they have advised me that I can drop a sample off at G P Out of Hours to establish if Maureen has a UTI.  The Laboratory may not be accessible to the public on a Bank Holiday but staff will be working and we should get the result in a couple of days.

By the middle of the week, we will know if the infection is behind Maureen’s extreme fluctuations in her presentation that plagued her on Sunday.  There is no let up for her this morning with concerns about a children’s party that is being planned and mad parents dressing their little ones up in ridiculous outfits.  She keeps telling me how frightened she is all of the time.

One significant difference yesterday was her fears that she was becoming a burden to me because of her poor memory.   I sang this one to her this morning to reassure her on that front:

My singing appears to have eased Maureen back to sleep and further rest might ease her troubled mind.  Girl Monday will be here at ten to support the sample securing process which might be a little easier with a recent purchase.  I will then hot foot it down to Grimsby Hospital so that we will know as soon as possible if we are dealing with an infection or further changes in Maureen’s condition.

Maureen has just woken as I’m about to post telling me how ridiculous the party is and how frightened she feels at the moment: her fear is palpable!

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in Mixed Dementia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dementia: Thank Goodness For 256256

  1. Mary Smith says:

    Hope you don’t have to wait too long to get the result and antibiotics if it is an infection. In the meantime make sure Maureen is drinking plenty of fluids. Good luck.

    Like

Leave a Reply

