Dementia: Listening To The Sound Of The Music

When Homefield House contacted me to say that they were struggling to know how to help Maureen settle down I mentioned how music is so important in our lives.  They clearly followed my advice and Maureen has told me all sorts of stories of how she entertained them during late night sessions.  She has also suggested that we put a show on for them one day as she thinks they might doubt we have Gold Medals for Latin and Ballroom.

Music has continued to be part of our routine since our return home.  We had a restful day yesterday recovering from our ordeal at Grimsby Hospital. Maureen’s G P checked her over in the afternoon and didn’t see anything that was of major concern.  Hopefully,  time will allow a laxative to clear the problem that emerged following her stay at Homefield House.

Once again Respite Care has not worked well for Maureen.  It is fortunate that I feel refreshed from my break as there is now, even more, work to be done here.  Maureen already felt deserted by her family and she now thinks the only friend she has in her life has left her at the mercy of people who have not treated at all well.

This song sums up her mood here at the moment:

As time passes and wounds heal I know Maureen and I will be singing to this one again:

We will eventually find our own way to ensure that I continue to have the energy to be a supportive Care Partner.  The traditional approach to a Respite Break has once again been more trouble than it is worth!

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in Mixed Dementia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dementia: Listening To The Sound Of The Music

  1. Fletcher says:

    Good day! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy
    your content. Please let me know. Cheers

    Like

Leave a Reply

