Dementia: A Fabulous Day

Sunday was a fabulous day from beginning to end.

Early on I met a Shonie Carter at the hotel recovering from the previous night’s bare knuckle duel:

Image result for shonie carter mma

By 11 am I was accompanying my Granddaughter on her Karaoke Machine  singing an Adele number:

After a lovely lunch prepared by ‘Adele’s mother’ I was speaking Punjabi with guests at a  wedding reception at the Royal Court:

By 4 pm I was in the company of my younger sister and her son who assured me Maureen was still his ‘Favourite Lady’.

As Arsenal booked their place in the Cup Final I met my Great Nephew for the first time.

By 7 pm I was in the company of my sister in law chatting about life when your loved one has dementia.

An hour later I was at the Standard Sweet Centre topping up on Asian food.

Just before I turned in I managed to catch up with Shonie again for a fascinating insight into an interesting life!

This is a very early morning post prior to my departure from Coventry.  When I get home I will take advice from a number of quarters before I decide whether to bring this period of Respite to an end.

 

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in Mixed Dementia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dementia: A Fabulous Day

  1. Dominique says:

    So glad to hear you are enjoying yourself. Your post is a really happy and joyful one. Keep it going for as long as you can.

    Like

  2. dbb34 says:

    I am so pleased that you have had such a wonderful family time which is very rare when one is a full time caregiver. Treasure these moments.

    I hope that Maureen settled during this time 😍

    Like

  3. Mary Smith says:

    Lovely to read about your enjoyable respite days.
    Your description of the care homes where your mum and brother are reminded me of why my sister and I decided to make sure dad could stay in his own home.

    Like

Leave a Reply

