10 Lessons from People l/w Dementia

Henri’s post that follows confirms the point I made yesterday. Those who live with dementia day after day understand the condition!

From Outside The Mall

I love my job. It fulfills me because I can give and receive in equal measure. In general, people assume that the lives of those living with dementia are somehow less than those who don’t. There are innumerable myths about what dementia is and how it diminishes a person.

I vehemently differ from this opinion. I wanted to list down all the things I have learned, relearned and had reinforced as a direct result of working and loving people living with dementia.

1. Slow down: I do everything fast. Eat. Speak. Walk. Read. Organize. BUT…if I have to effective in my work, I have to slow down to accommodate the needs of where people are at. Not just people l/w dementia, but also their caregivers. It stands me in good stead when I am stuck in a TTC disaster or trying to juggle five tasks at once.

Blog-sunset The sunset from our office…

View original post 925 more words

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

