Dementia: Lost, Bewildered and Frightened

Image result for Lost Bewildered and Frightened Picture

Maureen seemed totally lost late yesterday evening and I encouraged her to sleep it off. She reappeared from her nap after a short while and was completely lost in her surroundings despite my efforts to ground her.  When it was time to bed down for the night it took a long time to settle her on her choice of the sofa.   She has been awake several times during the night complaining that the people here are trying to frighten her and she can’t wait to get out of this place.  At 5 am she was struggling with a dry mouth and wondering if someone else was needed to help her with medication.

The coaching on medication went relatively well yesterday but it threw up all sorts of anxieties for Maureen about getting it right.  One thing it did address was just for once I was sure her tablets were taken.  There has often been evidence that Maureen has not taken her medication and yesterday I found more tablets in places where they should not have been!

There are a couple of things I’m going to try today in an effort to change Maureen’s presentation.  Firstly, I’m going to ask one of her sons to issue a rallying call for immediate family to schedule regular contact and visits.  Maureen’s continual question about where are my family needs to be addressed.  Secondly, I’m going to try to change her environment by encouraging activities that remove her from the sofa unless she is clearly in need of further rest.  Rachael Wonderlin has posted a video clip on her blog that will help me focus on this mission:

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in Mixed Dementia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dementia: Lost, Bewildered and Frightened

  1. I am sorry you have a family member who is suffering from dementia. My grandpa went through slight bouts of it before he passed. I sometimes wonder if could remember my name the last time I visited him but I know he could remember my face. I am a new blogger and am having so much fun researching and reading other people’s blogs. I am a college student and am in a social media class.It would be greatly be greatly appreciated if you would follow me and help support me in my class. I am doing a blog for my class and only post once a week but mostly just research other people’s blogs.
    I wish you the best with your family member and it is touching to hear that your other followers are supporting you in finding information for you. That’s great! Either way thank your for your inspirational writings and blog. Very interesting. Thanks again -bel

    Like

Leave a Reply

