Dementia: An Early Morning Tornado

Image result for tornado pictures

I was taken by surprise at 5.30 am when the tornado struck with Mrs Dementia blazing with all barrels.  My instructions were quite clear: ‘to get my things out of her room’.  Along with her husband, she had paid for the front bedroom and I had no right to put my things in there.

The storm had been brewing throughout the night with several incidents.  At first, Maureen was accusing fellow resident of stealing her clothes, a couple of hours later she became very concerned that ‘she would be in trouble for waking me’.  Fortunately, I am finding a short period of meditation helps me to drop off again after such incidents.

It is not helping that the pain in my legs and shoulders necessitates having a bed to myself at the moment.  Having your husband in a separate room is clearly not helping Maureen when she wakes up from fitful slumbers.  I’m hoping that we will be back together soon as my session in the Spa and Sauna yesterday seems to have eased things considerably.

With the tornado in full flow, I took shelter: there’s only one thing to do when Mrs Dementia is in full-flow.  Any challenge will only make things worse, even an aside that I needed a shower led to: ‘see if you can drown yourself when you are in there’.

My forecast for later is cold, with occasional showers that could become a storm if I don’t accept Maureen’s reality.  It is fortunate that Girl Wednesday Night is also available on Friday this week: if sleep interruption continues then there is a ready-made solution a phone call away.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dementia: An Early Morning Tornado

  1. Mary Smith says:

    Hope you get some relief for the back and leg pain. Constant pain is exhausting and the last thing you need when facing a dementia tornado.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

