Dementia: It’s A Farce

Image result for Farce or Pantomime Picture

I have decided to follow my dear old dad’s advice to his children: ‘tell the truth and shame the Devil’.  In my opinion, the Best Interest Meeting scheduled for Friday, to discuss Maureen’s future care and accommodation, is waste of time and public money.

My experiences of a Best Interest Discussion have not filled me with confidence.  Apologies have been forthcoming but I’m far from inspired with the scuttling around that is going on as professional staff attempt to get their house in order for Friday’s meeting.    I hope that such busy people are not overlooking the simple fact that Maureen wants to stay at home and I’m happy to continue as her Care Partner.  

My suggestion is that any review of Maureen’s care takes place with those people who are directly involved in her wellbeing.  What is the point of discussing such matters with those who only have an occasional involvement, and a  passing interest, in her welfare?

To keep within the spirit of my dad’s advice I would respectfully suggest that the Best Interest Meeting is little more than a farce and a very expensive one to boot!

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dementia: It’s A Farce

  1. dbb34 says:

    I have to agree with you. I had an experience of something like this over my mother’s care. I fought the DHB here and won (unusual). They were wary of me as I did a lot of research and was able to point to the research (including their own Strategy document which they showed their own lack of knowledge of). I also had with me a patient advocate who was their looking after Mum’s rights. I was aware that they could do what they wanted and there really was nothing I could do but they found it really hard to argue with my case and were aware I would have taken it to court if need be, I would probably have lost but they don’t want that sort of publicity. Don’t know if this is any help but stand up for what you know is right. Good luck and my thoughts are with you 😇

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Remember Me says:

    Thanks for sharing your experienjces Di. There have been further develpments today that have led to the meeting being potsponed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

