Dementia: A Lovely Memory

I clearly gave Maureen a lovely memory earlier this morning.  She was sleeping in the chair and stirred as I came into the room and said: ‘it’s GrandDad’ and gave me a kiss on the cheek.  I have often heard her speak so well of her grandparents so this case of mistaken identity didn’t worry me and reminded me of this song:

I remember a West Indian friend of mine once saying: ‘I don’t care what they call me as long as they don’t call me late for dinner’.  As Maureen’s dementia progresses I don’t worry who she thinks I am as long as she feels safe in my company.

4 thoughts on “Dementia: A Lovely Memory

      1. My Mum is 95 has vascular dementia and I think she has an idea who we are. John my brother is 73 and has Alzheimer’s, we hope his beautiful smile is a sign of recognition. Maureen has mixed dementia her memory fluctuates and who she thinks I am varies throughout the day.

        Like

Leave a comment