Dementia: A Silly Mistake

Image result for A silly Mistake PictureI made a silly mistake on turning in last night: I chose the wrong bedroom.  When Maureen woke in the early hours and found me in the marital bed she let me have it.  The onslaught lasted for over half an hour as I was told in no uncertain  terms what a s*** I was. Fortunately, I’ve now got a strategy for ‘cocking a deaf un’ so that I don’t absorb the vitriol and there was a bonus on-line.

Tara Quirke, in Australia, was on hand to sooth my troubled thoughts and offer warm words of encouragement -another Gem from Down Under. What she didn’t venture was I could have prevented the torrent by taking to the spare bedroom.  This will be my ploy in future to encourage ‘Mrs Dementia’ to stay in the closet so Maureen and I get a good night’s sleep.

The proof of this pudding is in the eating: Maureen has just joined me at the keyboard and I have eased her into the Girls Dorm.  She is a little unsteady on her feet this morning and feeling dizzy.  Her grip is strong and she can smile so I’m encouraging her to take further rest.  Just to be on the safe side I will relocate the Baby Monitor so I can hear her whenever she wakes from her slumbers.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dementia: A Silly Mistake

  1. dbb34 says:

    Unfortunately whichever bed you chose may be the wrong bed! Sometimes this can be a case of by guess or by God.

    I had a sensor mat by the bed so if John got up an alarm sounded to wake me up. These work well.

    Good luck with getting some sleep

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Remember Me says:

    I think you are right as you often are Di. All we can ever do is try something and if it works do it again if it doesn’t try something different.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

