Dementia: The Fight Within

I have a chest infection and have been prescribed antibiotics.  My sinus passages are blocked and I’m taking paracetamol to try to keep my temperature down.  Maureen is far from well with symptoms that need checking on Monday with a home visit from our G P.

I’m using this  poem by Normms McNamara  (diagnosed with dementia 6 years ago at the age of 50) to think about how she might be feeling about her dementia:

Image result for norman mcnamara torquay picture

‘THE FIGHT WITHIN

You read my posts, you see my pics, but cannot hear my thoughts,

The fight within, rages on, so desperate and so fraught,

I`m disappearing within myself, a little at a time

Every day my mind grows smaller, such a human crime,

Some days i sit for hours, with nothing in my head,

As the day drags on, its the evening that i dread,

Short burst`s of clarity come to me, every now and then,

I write them down, send off to you, and then i`m back again,

All alone within myself, getting ever smaller,

Suffering the blows, of Dementia`s brawler,

So if one day i disappear, before i say goodbye,

Always know your friendships, in my heart forever lie’

 

 

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dementia: The Fight Within

  1. Hi Paul. So sorry to learn that you’re unwell and hope you’ll recover quickly!

    Like

  2. dbb34 says:

    What a great poem, thank you for sharing

    Like

Leave a Reply

