Dementia: ‘It’s A No Brainer’

Image result for madhyamaka centre

Quality sleep has become impossible in the last few days, as you will see from this page, and I’m worn out.  Following advice from Marie of the Home Treatment Team, I have made arrangements for Maureen to go into Ashgrove Care Home this morning.  My initial thoughts were to seek a short break but after another night of Maureen being in and out of bed, I hope to extend it beyond a couple of days.

The dangers of poor sleep are well documented and Carer Burnout is around the corner.  It may well be that medication or some significant changes in our routine are necessary to help solve this one!

Once Maureen is safely in Ashgrove I’ll be on my way to Madyhamaka Kadampa Meditation Centre (pictured above).  The peace and tranquility of such a setting are just what I need at this moment in time: ‘it’s a ‘no-brainer’ as Kelsang Dorde ( far right below) would say.

Cheers Dorde, it’s your round when I get up there this afternoon!

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dementia: ‘It’s A No Brainer’

  1. Diane Brooks says:

    I hope you are having a quiet and tranquil time. It looks an amazing place. Rest well

    Like

Leave a Reply

