Dementia: Music Leads To Recovery

Image result for An Amazing Recovery Dementia PictureMaureen amazed me once again yesterday evening when she sang and danced along to Bing Crosby for over an hour.  She had woken from our late siesta and immediately burst into song with ‘good morning good morning…’ so I went for it and fired up the record player and put Bing on the deck.  The amazing part of all this: she had been on her knees in the afternoon freaked out by fear of the unknown.

It is unusual if music doesn’t lift Maureen’s mood and I generally hit the right note knowing who to put on the deck or call up on YouTube.  I also have a fair idea of what triggered her fall into despair: another new kid on the block.  That is why I sent the new carer off early and dragged Maureen on a shopping trip in the afternoon.  I knew that I couldn’t risk repeating my mistake of earlier in the week.

Chloe Maureen’s favourite carer will be here at ten.  If I could clone that woman I would and share her with all and sundry.  Chloe is the epitome of a good carer and has taught me so much about dementia and how to support Maureen.  Gail will be back on Wednesday and Thursday, she is another sound example of person-centred care.  I have every confidence that Hayley and Hannah from Hica ( our Agency) will pull out all the stops to find a suitable replacement Girl Tuesday as soon as possible.

Maureen needs consistency and routine.  I have messed up by seeking changes in the pattern of sits to suit my needs: A BIG MISTAKE.   Fortunately, we are back on the straight and narrow from next week with all calls 10 until 1.  Maureen doesn’t need some SILLY B (ME) messing up her routine and Hica could certainly do without the additional work I have caused: must pop in with some chocolate later in the day!

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

