Dementia: Time To Listen

Image result for Time to listen graphicIt is time to do something that I often struggle to do: to listen to other people before I continue to plough my own furrow.  My body and other people are telling me I have to change my ways or my efforts to keep Maureen at home for as long as possible will fail.

My plans for tomorrow are a typical example of my belligerence.  A 14 hour day filled with emotion can only leave me drained and my immune system further weakened.  I would only return from my trip to Coventry exhausted, unfulfilled and unfit to look after Maureen.

It is 4.30 am and I have been lying awake for a while; reluctant to face reality.  At 70 years of age, I am ‘no Spring Chicken’ as Gary our social worker kindly pointed out the other day.  There are no days off for  a Care Partner and I need to be on my toes 24/7.  Therefore, exhausting day trips to Coventry have to become a thing of the past.

I simply have to bite the bullet and schedule a further stint in Ashgrove Care Home for Maureen.  Then I can have an overnight stay in Coventry and drive back safely the next day.  This will also mean that I can take my mum out for a ride in the car when I visit.  She will forget that I have been as soon as I get on the M69 to travel back to Cleethorpes. However, seeing the pleasure on her face as she navigates a ’99’ in the front seat of our car,  as we sit in the car park of Coombe Park watching young children play, is something I will never forget.

I hope those people who have kindly facilitated a 14-hour carer sit tomorrow will understand my need to review my plans.  Perhaps they will take some solace that I’m showing signs of being prepared to listen to what they have been telling me for quite some time!  I will also seek an appointment with our G P this morning to discuss several things that are a cause for concern at the moment.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dementia: Time To Listen

  1. Diane Brooks says:

    I can relate, educators are used to be listened to rather than listening. Remember we are no longer the sage on the stage but are now the guide in the side, rather apposite for our carers role.

    Like

Leave a Reply

