Dementia: Dream or Reality?

Image result for Dreams and reality  picture

I woke up from a vivid  dream this morning struggling to grasp where I was in my life story.  This frightening start to the day gave me a glimpse of what it might be like for Maureen each time she wakes after sleeping.  Only a few minutes ago I heard her crying in the bedroom as she had woken and not known where she was.

Yesterday afternoon she told me that she had been dreaming of life as a child; waiting to go into the Saturday Morning Matinee at the Empire in Nottingham.   Later in the evening, she was frightened because she thought there was a strange man in the house.

Our sleep patterns seem to be improving slightly with Maureen accepting my gentle encouragement ‘to try for another hour’ when she wakes during the night.  The Webinar on Sleep and Dementia has also given me some further ideas on how we can both get a good night’s sleep:thank you Amazing Susan for pointing me in this direction.

When Maureen woke this morning she was concerned that she didn’t know what we were going to do today.  So I replied in my normal fashion: ‘to have an easy day’.

 

 

 

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

