Dementia: Looking Back: Looking Ahead [Week 6]

One thing I’m hoping for this week is that our arrangements for care are met as planned.  A mix up on Wednesday, and the weekend, meant that carers were not available on those  three days last week.

This week I’m going to see if keeping Maureen awake during the day will mean that we get more rest in the night.  Yesterday she slept most of the day and woke almost every hour in the night.  I will ask Chloe this morning’s carer to keep her busy this morning; then after a siesta in the afternoon I’ll try to keep her awake this evening.

I still wonder if  Maureen sleeps when she doesn’t know what else to do.  Television only holds her interest for short periods of time with Hidey High, on YouTube, one of our current favourites.  This evening I’ll see if  music along with a cross word, card games or dominoes might just do the trick.  If the going is good I might even put on a DVD that will help us to revise one or two of our dancing routines

Teepa Snow came to my rescue, again, yesterday afternoon when I was watching Maureen struggle for ages trying to find comfortable socks and shoes.  Taking deep breaths kept me on the straight and narrow at a difficult moment in another challenging day:

One of the early messages from my Admiral Nurse was to look at the work of Teepa Snow and I’m always glad I have taken her advice.  Teepa’s generosity in sharing her wisdom has been  invaluable as I travel on this unforgiving journey.

 

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dementia: Looking Back: Looking Ahead [Week 6]

  1. anniegoose says:

    one thing we have found out is that when we take mom to a restaurant – we have to order for her. when she looks at a menu it can her an hour just to go through 2 pages. no sooner does she look at one picture, then she totally forgets what she just looked at.

    at our last lunch she ordered the pot roast lunch and it was gigantic. two bites and she was done.

    my brother in law is a lot better in keeping her on the straight and narrow with regards to ordering. my husband told her she could have anything she wanted, and that created problems.

    blessings to you. keep up the good work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

