Dementia: She’s Not A Happy Bunny

Image result for Not A Happy Bunny PictureI  made an unscheduled visit to Maureen’s Care Home this morning and stayed for lunch..  It has been disappointing to hear her perception of her incarceration: to put it mildly she is not a happy bunny.  She is not too fond of me for: ‘dumping her in there while I’ve been away on holiday’.

I’m hoping to chat things over with the Home Treatment Team at 3 pm, before continuing my observations.  Maureen seems to be mixing well.   She seems popular with both residents and staff.  Since admission she has developed a slight stoop and I get the distinct impression that her efforts to form an Escape Committee with continue.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dementia: She’s Not A Happy Bunny

  1. Amanda says:

    This may sound awful and if it does I apologise up front.

    You wrote that Maureen is not happy at being incarcerated in her care home, but Maureen also felt she was being detained at home. I don’t mean this as a reflection of your care for Maureen which frankly is second to non, I just feel it’s the illness (for want of a better word) which does not allow her the happiness she richly deserves, not the care home and certainly not you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

