Dementia: ‘Its A No Brainer’

Image result for It's a no brainer pictureThe last time I was at the  Madhyamaka Meditation Centre Kelsang Dorde concluded his meditation session with : ‘its a no brainer’. Yesterday’ he deliberately did the same after reading out this quote from Geshe Kelsang Gyatso:

‘When things go wrong in our life and we encounter difficult situations, we tend to regard the situation itself as the problem, but in reality whatever problems we experience come from the mind’.

One of my reasons for coming here was to experience the warmth and kindness that the Centre emanates as I sought to rest my tired mind and body.  I couldn’t have come to a better place and have now sorted out my thinking on a possible way forward.

I intend to return to Cleethorpes this morning to settle back into familiar surroundings again. The news from down the road continues to be good: Maureen is enjoying her little break at Ashgrove Care Home.  My next move -‘its a no brainer’- to share my thinking  with Chloe our most experienced carer.

Chloe has been working with Maureen for over two years.  She knows Maureen better than anyone I know and has extensive experience of supporting people with dementia. Who better to share my thinking with than this highly skilled and dedicated carer?

 

 

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General, Mixed Dementia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

