Dementia: Early Morning Update

 

Image result for Up Before Dawn Picture

3.00 am

I have just put in a call to Single Point of Access requesting support in the morning to place Maureen in Ashgrove Care Home for a period of immediate respite.  This request will be on our social worker’s screen as soon as he switches on his computer this morning.

Maureen has been awake for about an hour totally refreshed after being asleep from early evening.  I crawled into bed around nine feeling exhausted after another day of trying to lift the spirits of someone who is frequently in despair.  She stood looking forlorn in the kitchen yesterday evening saying: ‘I’ve forgotten my name’.  This follows on from a comment the day before that she ‘couldn’t remember how to do anything’.

When I took Maureen a cup of tea this morning she thought I was her dad.  She told me I was her hero for taking her on such wonderful holidays to the Isle of Man: I have never been there!

It was a stroke of luck that I visited Ashgrove yesterday following positive reports on the place.  It is on our doorstep but I was aware that it had been in Special Measures so I had not darkened their door. I’m glad I did as the place has been transformed since I  visited Maureen’s uncle there at the end of last year and they have immediate avilability for respite.

If I don’t get some quality sleep soon I will keel over and any involvement in where Maureen is cared for will be out of my hands!

Footnote: My status changed at 4 am when Maureen added this to our shopping list on the whiteboard: ‘HONEY FOR GRANDAD’.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dementia: Early Morning Update

  1. Diane Brooks says:

    Totally understand! Even though John has been in care for three months I am still not back into a proper sleep pattern and I wake a few times each night. Six years of being on the alert and not falling into a deep sleep takes its toll. Your first job is to take care of the carer cos if you don’t then you won’t be able to take care of Maureen.

    I am hoping you get that much needed sleep 💤💤💤

    Like

  2. Oh goodness, I hope things worked out and that Maureen is in safe hands, and that you are getting the rest you need!

    Like

Leave a Reply

