Dementia: Chlorine Is Preferable To Urine

 

Image result for Nasty smell pictureI actually made it to Cleethorpes Leisure Centre yesterday morning to self-administer a bit of TLC to my tired body and mind.  The aroma in the swimming pool, sauna, and spa, was a pleasant relief from what had accompanied me on my visits to Care Homes the day before: chlorine is preferable to urine.  However, it wasn’t just the smell that put me off; it was the look  of hopelessness and despair on the faces of residents.

Maureen would have hated being incarcerated in any of the places I visited on Thursday.   Her life expectancy would have been months in any one of those Homes – she would have given up: feeling she had been abandoned and deserted in undesirable surroundings.   Although they are only the tip of the iceberg I have decided to call a halt on looking at other Care Homes in the area.  There seems little point in spending further time looking around when Lindsey Hall Nursing Home ticks all the boxes:  my task is to remain patient and find ways of coping until Day Care becomes a viable option.  This means taking every opportunity to have a break from my duties as a Care Partner by finding regenerative activities during daily Carer Sits.  I will post what I have been up to on this front on a daily basis:  it’s one of those occasions when actions will speak louder than words!

 

 

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

