Dementia: Seeking Immediate Respite

Image result for Dementia:Respite Needed Picture

I now realise that the only way I’m going to ger some quality sleep is to be in a separate place to Maureen for a while.  It is now approaching 5.30 am and she has been up for an hour following on from  incidents earlier this morning.  Sleep interruption is becoming the norm  and I have almost forgotten what it is like to enjoy quality rest.

When I speak to our social worker later on I will be requesting immediate respite.  I  need some rest if I am to have the energy to be Maureen’s  Care Partner: sleep deprivation is torture for anyone.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dementia: Seeking Immediate Respite

  1. Yes. I hope you got the rest you needed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. AmazingSusan says:

    Yep. Been there 😦

    Like

  3. I do hope you were listened to and were given the help you need. Respite care is so hard to access, but a vital lifeline x x

    Like

Leave a Reply

