Dementia: Just Another Day

Yesterday I reaped the benefit  of a Team of people who provide support to us:

Kelly from Dementia Engagement:   For clarifying progress of the Gardening Initiative.

Sue from the Home Treatment Team:  For helpful advice and support.

Claire from Lindsey Hall Nursing Home: For confirming assessment visit today

Staff at Local Lloyd’s Pharmacy: For providing advice and TLC.

Gary our Social Worker: For advice and arranging to meet this afternoon.

Dianne (sister-in-law): For confirming visit today and willingness to stay with Maureen while I meet Gary.

 Cleethorpes Leisure Centre:  For good company in refreshing surroundings.

Neighbours: For keeping Maureen safe while she was on walkabout when I was out..

Specsavers Cleethorpes: For providing advice over Maureen’s optical issues.

Lisa (daughter): For telephone support.

Blog Followers: For helpful suggestions and support.

Charlotte:  For a supportive Carer Sit

Various Care Agencies: For clear information and advice

I realise that we are very fortunate with the level of support we receive here in Cleethorpes.  There is little doubt I wouldn’t cope without the Team of people who are always at the end of a telephone..

Maureen’s opening gambit today is: ‘she doesn’t want to go; has nothing to wear and doesn’t know what she is going to do to’ – just Another Day in my life as her Care Partner.

 

 

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dementia: Just Another Day

  1. Diane Brooks says:

    I love how positive you are, I am certainly not as positive as you. It is one of my targets!

    Great you have a good support system, it is very difficult without. 😇

    Like

    • Remember Me says:

      Team building was an essential component of my professional career. It is very fortunate that I have been trained in the art of building teams in all sorts of settings and it is something I’m good at. Knowing that there are dependable people available at the drop of a hat is essentail with dementia in the equation. Our Team would compete well in any League in the World: Blogging has opened so many doors and meant that my recruitment has been World Wide. The calibre of support that we have available keeps me going on many a dark night and before dawn when sleep escapes me -such as now. Guess who woke me just after midnight?

      Like

Leave a Reply

