Dementia: On Target? (Week 2)

Image result for on target ? picturesAs our move has now been delayed I am now reviewing how I did on the targets I set for last week:

  • To smile more and communicate clearly

I haven’t had a bad week on this front with the occasional lapse: particularly when Maureen tried to hang washing on a tree and ended up treading on a freshly set part of my vegetable plot.  I didn’t smile at this escapade and became frustrated that my hard work had been undone.

  • To visit family in Coventry
  • To have a day out together

No progress has been made on the above.

  • To go out and leave Maureen to her own devices for an hour on two separate occasions

I have left Maureen on a couple of occasions almost approaching the hour mark

  • To revise and dance our routines to the Cha Cha in our Lounge

We have had the odd smooch but no Cha Cha in the last week

  • To encourage Maureen to do crosswords or jigsaws

Thursday’s carer did a couple of crosswords with Maureen and I have bought a jigsaw

  • To attempt to resolve Maureen’s shortage of clothing

I have bought Maureen 3 pairs of joggers which are awaiting examination.  The pyjama trousers I bought are uncomfortable.

The question is am I doing a good job?  I think I have done well in the last week by exploring Day Care at Royal Court and a move into Lindsey Hall Nursing Home.

I hope to make progress on some of the issues that are outstanding in the coming week.

Three additional targets for this week:

  • To explore avenues for some form of immediate respite
  • To explore  moving into single rooms in Lindsey Hall on a temporary basis
  • To explore viable alternatives to moving into Lindsey Hall
About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Dementia: On Target? (Week 2)

  1. Diane Brooks says:

    I am so impressed at how well you have succeeded this week. You pack a fair bit into your week.

    I am hopeless, certainly a week is a long time for us. For us it is day by day. I admit one of my targets every day is not to show how frustrated I may be feeling. I do find that difficult at times but have learnt to achieve it most days. Poor John gets so upset if I do show frustration and feels he has done something wrong which then takes me ages to reassure him, then I feel guilty!,,

    Like

  2. AmazingSusan says:

    Di & Paul, you are both awesome 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

