Dementia: Six Days To Go

Image result for six days to go picture

There are now six days to go before Maureen and I move into Lindsey Hall Nursing Home. Today’s post is the start of the countdown to the next phase of our lives: I’m very excited about what lies ahead.

My focus has to remain om minimising distress as I attempt the very thing that someone with dementia fears – CHANGE.   I have to tread very carefully in the next six days as we approach the next phase of our lives.

I risked it yesterday afternoon by taking Maureen to visit our new home.  Her diatribe about carers opened the door to changing our domestic set up.  I told her that I had an idea how we could work together as Activity Organisers in a Holiday Home that was about to open.  Her immediate reaction was ‘she had lost her confidence and doubted her ability to be able to do anything’.

She was very circumspect as we walked the corridors of Lindsey Hall.  The place resembled a building site with all hands on deck to get the place ready for opening on Monday.  She made it clear that she didn’t like the place or support my suggestion in any way.  

As our moving date approaches there is lots’ to be done.  I will have to tread very carefully in the next few days to ensure a relatively smooth transition to our new abode.

 

 

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dementia: Six Days To Go

  1. Dominique says:

    The very best of luck to you both – no doubt, it may well be quite challenging for you in the days ahead.

    Like

  2. So happy for you and Maureen about this new direction.

    Like

  3. Best of luck in making the transition. In the long-run, I think it is the best thing for both of you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

