Dementia: Put On A Happy Face

I went to bed last night with a feeling that something positive is on the horizon.  The prospect of moving into Lindsey Hall Nursing Home has put a spring into my step.  I have to admit with autumn around the corner I was becoming concerned about how we would cope when it was too cold to go outside.

One thing I have learned in life is not to count your chickens before they are hatched.  So as the arrangements for moving into our new home are processed it has to be business as usual.  There are so many what ifs at the moment that I have to stay calm and carry on as normal.

Chloe will be here at 10 am for a carer sit with Maureen.  I need to do the weekly shop to make sure we have provisions for the coming week.  However as I go about today’s business there are more reasons than ever to ‘Put On A Happy Face’. 

 

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dementia: Put On A Happy Face

  1. Amanda says:

    Hope you dont mind I’ve just had a look at the home on line and it looks absolutely amazing. With bowls and its own mini arcade to stroll along it seems tailor made to give Maureen and yourself many happy days ahead. Well done grabbing such a fantastic opportunity in both hands.

    Like

  2. Dominique says:

    Wow! This place looks amazing. Wish there was something like it over here in Adelaide! I really hope that it is a successful outcome for you both. All the very best x

    Like

  3. Gill says:

    I am delighted for you at the prospect… is this to be a permanent move for both of you? Or a temporary respite? You are so lucky to have such a wonderful place on your doorstep .. we sadly do not. Rob’s respite for a week in a dementia unit was ‘alright’ and Rob embraced it as like you I so desperately needed sleep as a result of nocturnal activities and dramas .. but he returned absolutely exhausted!! His eyes were red blood shot because he hadn’t slept for a whole week with no dozing during the day. Not the fault of the home at all ..just there was too much going on, and he didn’t go to bed until late .. and so he just didn’t sleep! My thoughts are with you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

