Dementia: Improving Communication

Compared to Monday we had both had a reasonable amount of sleep last night.  It’s amazing how a night’s rest helps to clarify early morning thoughts and I’ve had my thinking hat on from 4 am.

I have decided to withdraw from the Blogging, Branding and Growth Course: sprucing up my Blog and growing my readership is hardly a priority at the moment.

What I need to do is to ensure is that my communication with  Maureen is effective.  This means I need to think very clearly about what I say and how I say it.

This video clip from Teepa Snow sets me on my way to my wife understanding me:

Teepa is very generous and produces lots of video clips that are available free of charge.  I will make time in the coming days to review my approach to communicating with Maureen by having time with Teepa.  My other focus will be on attempting to move her from the sofa and engage with those things that she shows an interest in.

It is Maureen’s brother’s birthday this morning and that opens up all sorts of possibilities for engagement.  His card remains in our address book so I will bring it out into the open. This might lead to a walk to the Post Office and the possibility of a phone call. 

I’m scheduled for a meeting with Sadie at Hica our Care Agency this morning.  I have a bill to pay for two overnight sits from my visit to York.  Sadie has now completed her investigation into some shortcomings during my three days of Respite.  I plan to use our meeting as an opportunity to build on the positive relationship I have developed with Sadie and let bygones be bygones.  On many occasions I know that Hica are now going the extra mile for us and that makes such a difference to our journey.

I have an appointment with a nurse to have my ears syringed this afternoon.  I’m planning to see Dr Munjal while I’m down at our Medical Centre to discuss Maureen’s wellbeing: her bloated stomach is still giving me cause for concern.  I also need to update him on why I have cooled on the idea of  Day Care.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dementia: Improving Communication

  1. Diane Brooks says:

    One of the things I did with Mum was we went through various photos, stuck them into a scrap book and then she told me what the photo was about. While she did this I wrote down what she told me. I read them to her over and over. We would regularly add to the book. Sometimes she would add some more and I would then add that. Even as the Alzheimer’s progressed she still loved going over the book. In the home others used it to read with her and as it was about her she related to it.

    John was a well known sports journalist and had a wonderful command of the English language. Unfortunately this is no longer the case. I have found that I need to use basic language and speak clearly and slowly. I always use a calm voice tone (often difficult to do).

    Both love talking about shared past experiences.

    Not sure why but John also has a swollen stomach but the doctor doesn’t seem too worried about it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

