Dementia: The Importance Of DNA

Image result for Do Not Absorb Picture

Early on in our journey Yvonna our local Lloyd’s Pharmacist alerted me to the importance of DNA once your loved one has a diagnosis of dementia.  Her message of Do Not Absorb became particularly pertinent yesterday.

I returned home from my meeting with the CCG yesterday to a litany of complaints about Hilary the Carer who had been with Maureen during my absence.  Maureen thought she was a spy trying to find out about us with her endless questions.  I went along with Maureen’s reality and agreed that we didn’t need any more nosey people in our lives.

Following a siesta in the afternoon Maureen thought I was her brother: she asked me lots of questions about my wife and daughters.  Once again I didn’t challenge her reality and blagged my way through a challenging hour or so.  I changed things by going out to the shops and when I returned I was back as Maureen’s husband: her brother never surfaced with that shopping.

The interesting thing about the evening was we spent a second night together in the marital bed: sleeping of course.  For the second night running we went upstairs together and slept in our front bedroom as if that was what we always did.

I’ve just remembered I need to pop into our local pharmacy with some fruit this morning, as I caught one of them buying a stash of biscuits the other day.  Someone needs to remind them about healthy eating: they can’t always expect ice cream as a sincere token of our thanks for such excellent support.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dementia: The Importance Of DNA

  1. How wonderful! A time to cherish 😊 And yes, we professionals need more than chocolate 😉 x x

    Like

  2. Diane Brooks says:

    Like you I always just take whatever John says as reality and go with that, keeps things calm.

    With clothing; for both Mum and John I gradually eliminated clothes that were more difficult to put on or launder, I found that easiest.

    Both Mum and John are rummagers and pull everything out of cupboards. In the bedroom I left the clothes that were not often worn and I set up shelves in the lounge where I kept the clothes we were using. This way I was able to lay my hands on the clothes required and not have to spend half an hour finding two sox the same.

    Like

    • Remember Me says:

      Maureen is also a rummager Diane, I thjink it is a time filler. I often spend time playing a game of pairing up socks a sort of competition each morning to see how many I can find.

      Like

Leave a Reply

