Dementia: NELC Welcomes Feedback

Image result for NELC LogoI have always found the Local Authority here accessible: they welcome feedback.  Any time I have requested to meet Senior Officers of NELC they have found time within their busy schedules to hear me out.  My faltering presentations, where I have often outlined shortcomings in our experiences of their services, have always been received professionally and prompt action has always been taken to improve matters.  I have every confidence that yesterday’s meeting will lead to further improvements in the provision of services for families where dementia is a factor.

Yesterday I outlined the buck passing that had gone on about Maureen’s dreadful experiences in Ladysmith Road Care Home.  The points I have made will be addressed by the appropriate Officer and I am confident that a review will take place of the future use of this facility.  Although I’m well aware that Austerity Measures have led to the closure of provision that may well have been more appropriate to Maureen’s needs.  As always when I have raised matters communication will continue and I will be kept informed of the outcome of my concerns.

Lisa Hilder, the Assistant Director for Strategic Planning, thoughtfully outlined some new and forthcoming provision that the CCG are supporting.  Their use of Drama to support Reminiscent Therapy seems interesting and details will be forwarded.  I was also delighted to hear that an initiative to address Sleeping Disorders is in the pipeline.  Sally an Engagement Officer who was also at the meeting pointed out that the CCG’s Portal could always be used to reflect our experiences of Services.

It is always a dilemma to know what to do when you are at the receiving end of  poor services.  The shop steward within me is always tempted to ‘take them on’; more recently I have tempered this combative nature of mine with complimenting when services are good.

My blog will continue to give an honest account of how things are for us.  My dear old dad used to advise his children to ‘tell the truth and shame the Devil’: he was still writing beautifully hand-written letters complaining about all sorts of things in his 90’s!

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

