Living well…with dementia?

I have changed the title of my Blog on the strength of this forthright post from George Rook. He always says it as it is and I’m very grateful for his hard work and honesty. Like us all Maureen and I are ‘Seeking The Good Life’.

george rook

What did I learn yesterday?

I had a great day in London, working on the Alzheimer’s Society new vision with 50 like minded people.

I had eggs royale and coffee at St Katharine’s dock, in the sun, beside yachts, served by a lovely helpful young man.

image

And, as ever, I learned lots, reflected, and altered my thinking.

That’s one of the great pleasures of going to conferences and workshops.

Ideas, challenge, discussion…

“Ideating”…a new word that was born in my world yesterday. (Though I hope it also dies soon.)

image

Living well with dementia…what’s that all about?

I’ve wondered about this for some time, but I’ve stuck with it.

Living well with dementia is not the right description.

Yes, it is possible to live well, with or without dementia. To carry on living and doing the same things you did before. To go out and meet friends. To be active, walking…

View original post 389 more words

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

