Dementia: Is This A Plateau?

Maureen showed signs of capacity yesterday that I feared were gone forever.  She made herself a cup of coffee without any prompting and also put washing on the line.  I need to be very patient today providing prompting at appropriate times to support her to find purpose in her day.

There is no doubt that as exceptional support has arrived from Focus and Navigo I have felt a little more relaxed in my caring role.  We are very fortunate in the range, and quality of support, that is available here.  Unfortunately, there is never enough money to go around and like anywhere else professional staff are pushed to the limit by the Austerity Programme.

I have already improved the layout in our lounge/bedroom this morning.  What I had hastily thrown together yesterday helped us both to have a better night with comfort at hand whenever Maureen awoke.  Unfortunately she is still very nervous following her experiences in Ladysmith Road Care Home and I have some unfinished business in that quarter which I hope to progress next week..

A new carer is her at noon from the same Agency as last weekend.  If she is half the woman of her predecessor then it can only help, as Dianne was great.  She is back next week so one more piece is now in place in a jigsaw of support that can only help as we move forward on this hazardous journey.

 

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dementia: Is This A Plateau?

  1. AmazingSusan says:

    I have learned this is not at all a linear process. That’s why I don’t really subscribe to the “stages.” I have found the yarn example I use for the memory part works equally well for the capacity part. For example, even though she’s in the “late stages” my care partner still recognizes me intermittently and even calls me by my name and nickname. In the early days, she would sometimes argue vehemently with me that I was not her daughter. I find it useful to accept each moment as it is without trying to label it, or put it in a box, or pigeonhole.

    Like

    • Remember Me says:

      Thanks for your comment Susan it has helped me to see that the ‘stages’ model for what it is. It has been great to see Maureen recover from the fright of being in that Care Home and regain her confidence and competence.

      Like

Leave a Reply

