Dementia: Completing My Carers Assessment

I’m meeting our social worker at 11.30 am this morning to complete my Carers Assessment

If I am to have a life of my own alongside being Maureen’s Care Partner my shopping list of aspirations is as follows:

  • Daily 3 hour sits from 1o am until 1 pm with a regular team of Carers.
  • Maureen to attend Day Care from 10 am until 5 am, ideally for two days a week, at Royal Court Care Home.  Provisionally from week commencing Monday 22nd August.
  • One trip a month to visit family in Coventry or London with care from 7 am until 9.30 pm.  Next trip Friday 19th August
  • Three days of respite a month for Buddhist Retreats, at the Madhyamaka Centre in Pocklington, with wall to wall care from 7 am on the first day until 6 pm on the third.  Next trip Monday 5th September onwards.
  • Professional support to continue to be provided by Focus, Admiral Nursing, the Home Treatment Team and Clee Medical Centre.
  • Family members to commit to scheduled visits (needs coordination).
  • Daily meditation by following teachings on YouTube and reading.
  • Regular attendance at Tai Chi classes.
  • Regular attendance at Cleethorpes Leisure Centre.
  • To continue to grow vegetables and use gardening as ‘in house therapy’.
  • To meet my Lifelong Learning needs through On Line Courses.
  • To remain a card holding (inactive) member of the Labour Party.
  • To reinvigorate my role as a volunteer with the local Dementia Engagement Project.
  • To continue blogging my experiences as a Care Partner.
  • To continue following the fortunes of Coventry City via Sky Blue Player.

Two important principles: no more vagaries from me and all arrangements for care to be reliable and sustainable. Time also for me to reflect on the Serenity Prayer:

Edit: Social worker off sick so the meeting is cancelled.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dementia: Completing My Carers Assessment

  1. Amanda says:

    I’m so frustrated for you. I know people cannot help getting sick, but arrrhhhhhh!!!!! You really needed the assessment now.

    Hope you get adequate support up until the assessment finally takes place and that the delay is a very short one.

    Like

  2. So frustrating! I hope the meeting will promptly be rescheduled.

    Like

  3. tom says:

    Go for it. On aspiration 11: how about keeping my posted on what you’re doing/learning?

    Like

    • Remember Me says:

      I’m not following any particular courses at the moment as I’m too tired. What I’m trying to do is retain a peaceful mind using Dharma generally from Dekyong’s teachings on YouTube.

      Like

Leave a Reply

