Dementia: Needing A Little Bit Of Luck

I am exhausted after another night with little sleep.  Maureen is finding it difficult to rest because of the back pain she is still experiencing following her fall in Ladysmith Road Care Home.  I am hoping that paracetamol and pain relieving gel will help her to get a little more sleep: I have given up at 4 am after another interrupted night. and drafted this post.

My plans about a bed at The Royal Court Care Home are in tatters.  The room was excellent but we have now decided that the stairs present a risk to her safety.  My contingency is to see if Day Care is a viable option until a downstairs room becomes available.   There is a steep hurdle to be overcome before my aspirations for Maureen to have several hours at the Home over the weekend become a reality: shifting her off the sofa.

I am hoping that we can cajole Maureen to Royal Court on Friday for assessment.   There are ‘cunning plans’  in place with Chloe our carer,  Maureen’s son and the Home Treatment Team geared up to help ease Maureen from the sofa.  If things go well I could then have several hours to myself on the Saturday while she spends most of the morning and afternoon in their care. 

If this Saturday comes to fruition it could become a fixed feast and gradually extended to include a mid-week stay.  All we need is a little bit of luck and the direction on the next part of our journey becomes a little clearer:

I spoke to Social Work ‘Out of Ours’ at 4.30 am so our Key Worker would be aware of our plans as she switched on her computer this morning.  I took Aimee’s advice and managed another hour in bed before Maureen was up once again, this time needing a drink.  I’m hoping she will rest a while longer so that I can have a little time to myself.

My energy tank is empty and our G P (Doctor Munjal) and others are becoming increasingly concerned about the risk of Burn-Out:  an insatiable appetite; the inability to sleep; needing to pass water frequently; aching muscle groups are far from healthy signs.  Dr Munjal insists it is time to call for help with Maureen’s care – he will play his part if she resists our plans to ease her into Day Care. When I saw him about my exhaustion yesterday the Lucky Man told me he is going to Iceland on Monday for five days: what I would give for a break of that duration!

Lady Luck is already shining down on me this morning in Costa del Cleethorpes.  A warmer day offers all sorts of possibilities.  If I can only get Sleeping Beauty to the beach who knows what might happen.  One thing is sure sun burn is out of the question with the amount of lotion we have in stock: another reminder that dementia has been around for far longer than many thought!

 

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dementia: Needing A Little Bit Of Luck

  1. Here’s wishing you a good day x x It’s so difficult, but you must look after yourself. I hope the transition to day care isn’t too stressful for you both x x

    Like

Leave a Reply

