Hear their voice…

A lovely poem with so many helpful reminders for us all.

memorylanemusings

Hello, happy August 1st! I am having a couple of weeks off work, but I wanted to share this poem with you all. Have a great day x x

“When I wander
don’t tell me to come and sit down.
Wander with me.
It may be because I am hungry, thirsty, need the toilet.
Or maybe I just need to stretch my legs.

When I call for my mother
(even though I’m ninety!)
don’t tell me she has died.
Reassure me, cuddle me, ask me about her.
It may be that I am looking for the security
that my mother once gave me.

When I shout out
please don’t ask me to be quiet…or walk by.
I am trying to tell you something,
but have difficulty in telling you what.
Be patient. Try to find out.
I may be in pain.

When I become agitated or appear angry,
please don’t…

View original post 175 more words

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hear their voice…

  1. Thank you for the re-blog 😊 I look forward to reading more of your posts x

    Like

Leave a Reply

