Dementia: An Amazing Woman

I have always thought my wife is an amazing woman who has dealt with lots of adversity in her life with dignity.

Her presentation this morning has been impressive; her rational thought sound and her logic intact.

In some ways her gentle nature is letting her down at the moment and it must be difficult to be assertive when dementia is a factor.

One thing I know is in my hour(s) of need she has always stood shoulder to shoulder through thick and thin and I’m with her on this one.  As she says ‘why do I need to go into a Care Home I saw last week what it does to people: it makes them worse’.

I’m optimistic that I can get some common sense into any discussions about Best Interest We all need a little more time before we consider the next stage of our journey.  Hence I am meeting the Head of the Home Treatment Team at 10.30 this morning.  I then move on to meet the Manager of Ladysmith Road Care Home to receive her response to my concerns.  This morning’s carer sit is so I can have some time to myself: I rest my case!

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

