Dementia: Little Things Mean A lot

If looks could kill I wouldn’t be around any longer as Maureen’s presentation continues to become more challenging.

I don’t think she knows who I am and she wants nothing to do with the meal I’m preparing, despite it being one of her favourites.

The Capacity Assessment by the Home Treatment Team has been delayed because they have been involved in crisis work all morning.  I hope they will be here this afternoon to carry out the assessment and advise me on the best response to Maureen’s presentation.

Sue our socail worker is trying to organise additional carer sits for the weekend.  I hope the weather is kind and I’ll be able to have a refreshing walk in the sunshine: little things mean a lot when Mrs Dementia has got one on her.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dementia: Little Things Mean A lot

  1. AmazingSusan says:

    Paul, I used to have the same impact on my care partner. my theory is that it’s anger and frustration at the situation they are in projected onto someone familiar. For me, the best solution was to extricate myself from the situation and have someone else do the caring, and of course not to take it personally. Also, i found/find it helpful to agree and apologize, agree and apologize, agree and apologize. Stay calm. Use a calm tone of voice. do your buddhist thing 🙂 I hope you are offended by my unsolicited advice ❤

    Like

  2. I’ve been following your posts with a clenched heart this week, Paul. Please know that you and Maureen are in my thoughts. You’ve been dealing with such difficult challenges these past many days. I hope there is a break in the onslaught soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

