Dementia: Early Morning Mayhem

I was awoken at 2 am by a racket going on downstairs.  Maureen was shouting all sorts of abuse at someone who was’ holding her prisoner in a strange house’.  In short the night sit has not gone well and I have only had a couple of hours’ sleep; which is more than Maureen has had in the last 24 hours.

It is fortunate that the Care Agency sent such a skilled carer to do the night sit.  Sarah is relatively new to Home Care and she is a natural with her calm considered manner.  I hate to think what might have happened if Maureen had not been handled by such a skilled practitioner.

I do not have the time or energy to detail what went on from 2 am.  It took us a long time to calm Maureen down and we summoned support from a number of quarters.  She is totally exhausted now: medical intervention may be needed so that she can get some much needed rest.

I will speak to social services this morning to try to find a way forward that gives me the rest that I need so I can continue to look after Maureen in our own home.

 

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dementia: Early Morning Mayhem

  1. Amanda says:

    I’m so sorry it didn’t go well last night. Hope today’s calls reap results.

    Like

  2. Amanda says:

    I’mreally glad. Try to take care of yourself.

    Like

  3. Ohh, so sorry to hear it wasn’t a good night. Hoping the day has gone better.

    Like

  4. Remember Me says:

    Long day waitng for an assessment that could lead to a productive outcome.

    Like

Leave a Reply

