Dementia: Accentuate The Positive

It would be easy to slip into doom and gloom after another night with little sleep. Yet if I go with Bing there is much to celebrate:

  • I persuaded Maureen to go to bed around midnight.
  • She let me join her in the marital bed at 1.30 pm.
  •  We celebrated her generosity in loaning ‘them’ her car so children could be taken out on trips.
  • Maureen told me she liked me in bed with her.
  • It’s a lovely morning in Costa del Cleethorpes.
  • An early morning shower has eased my aches and pains.
  • The pain from the tear in my rotator cuff has gone and I will not need an operation.
  • I have managed to ease into a new pair of 38″ waist shorts this morning.
  • I am meeting my Admiral Nurse tomorrow to review my approach to supporting Maureen.
  • Care has been arranged so I can visit family in Coventry on Thursday.
  •  Vegetables are growing well on my plot particularly tomatoes and kidney beans.
  • Maureen is currently lying in bed singing ‘The Way We Were ‘ as she waits for a pot of tea to cool:

  • We are going to have an enjoyable day together seeking opportunities to have fun.
  • We are still with you on this one Bing!
About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dementia: Accentuate The Positive

    • Remember Me says:

      Thanks Susan for the references I will chaeck them out later. When I meet with Mel my Admiral Nurse tomorrow we are going to see where Maureen fits on Teepa’s Gems. The problem with vascular dementia is that her presentation is not really being monitored so it’s a case of DIY from yours truly. We can’t have ‘Prescribed Disengagement’ creeping in or my friend Kate Swaffer would be on my case! Great morning with Maureen the Songbird in fantastic voice in the garden in beautiful sunshine: thank goodness for Smart Phones and YouTube.

      Like

  1. So glad you’ve gotten some relief from the pain in your shoulder!

    Like

Leave a Reply

