Dementia: A Rude Awakening

I was awoken at 5 am this morning by voices from downstairs.  Maureen tells me that she had been out looking for me and Mike our neighbour had a key so he let her in.  I doubt her story as Mike is still in hospital awaiting tests following a heart attack.

It was a familiar tale last night with Maureen frightened of men and wanting to sleep alone.  My mistake was failing to set up the Baby Monitor before I took my place in the spare room.  Although I’m so tired at the moment I may well have slept through Maureen waking and going outside clad in her PJ’s looking for me.

Chloe and Gail, our main carers have both encouraged me to seek a further assessment of Maureen’s condition. There is little doubt that her dementia is continuing to progress and her poor short-term memory is now a major concern.

This morning was a Rude Awakening: it was also a Lucky Break.  Complacency and exhaustion put Maureen at risk and need to be addressed.

It is fortunate that a review of my Carers Assessment is only a week away.  I am aware that the Agency are under pressure to staff their calls this weekend so I won’t call for support today.  The time has arrived to call time on having no carer support at the weekend.  I also need to ask our G P to carry out a thorough assessment of Maureen’s presentation as her dementia progresses with no sign of a plateau.

Postscript: Teepa Snow encourages Care Partners to become detectives as they attempt to support their loved ones.  I will need to go on the beat as PC 70 (my initials and age) shortly to find, and thank, the kind soul who chaperoned Maureen back to our house at 5 am this morning.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dementia: A Rude Awakening

  1. AmazingSusan says:

    You inspire me Paul. Thanks for all you are doing for Maureen and for sharing your journey so openly and honestly.

    Like

  2. Remember Me says:

    My dad always told me to ‘tell the truth and shame the devil’. He was a great dad an inspiration to us all and he loved Maureen. She has always been here for me in my hour(s) of need so it’s time to reciprocate but for her prompt action a few years ago I wouldn’t be around to tell others of our journey.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

