Dementia: Help Needed

At 3 am this morning I contacted Single Point of Access (our 24 hour Help Line) to inform them that I was unwell and would not be able to keep Maureen safe.  They have agreed to alert Rapid Response who will contact us after 7 am to arrange an assessment of our situation.

Maureen says ‘she needs someone to look after her and feels unable to tend to my needs’ as my nose drips like a tap, my head aches and I am unsteady on my feet.  Her confusion is paramount as she tries to make sense of the situation: ‘in a place that she doesn’t know with no staff on duty’.

 My suggestion is she is supported to do what any wife would do when her husband is unwell: ‘help the old man to get back on his feet’.  This would avoid a repetition of the distress that was caused on a previous occasion when she was dropped off at a Day Centre when I was unwell.

I am posting a little earlier than normal this morning as I await from contact from Rapid Responders.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dementia: Help Needed

  1. AmazingSusan says:

    Sending positive vibes and healing energy your way. You are not alone. Your story is that of millions of caregivers who go to the ends of the earth in a multitude of ways for those they love. You are both so brave and courageous and you have done the right and smart thing by reaching out for help. X

    Like

  2. Remember Me says:

    Thanks Susan: Gold Standard help has arrived and more is in the pipeline.

    Like

  3. Henri says:

    Hope you feel better soon and are back on your feet! Glad that help has arrived. Lots and lots of love to Maureen and you.

    Like

  4. Remember Me says:

    Thanks Henri for your king wishes. I’m hoping that Propolis and paracetomol will do the trick. I usually get this infection when I’m worn out. The time has arrived to set up some respite on a regular basis.

    Like

Leave a Reply

