Dementia: The Bear Facts Of It

Maureen had what is common parlance following stroke a ‘Duvet Day’ yesterday: all she wanted to do was sleep.  In her case it was a sofa day and the ‘bear facts’ as you will see from the photo below were we left the poor things too it. Just for the record my bear carries my name and is of course on a blue pillow: Maureen’s is ‘Nana’s Bear’ – both were bought for us by Denise, her late daughter.  When Mrs Dementia is around she often removes my bear from the scene along with my pillow!

Maureen had what is common parlance following stroke a ‘Duvet Day’ yesterday: all she wanted to do was sleep.  In her case it was a sofa day and the ‘bear facts’ as you will see from the photo below were we left the poor things too it. Just for the record my bear carries my name and is of course on a blue pillow: Maureen’s is ‘Nana’s Bear’ – both were bought for us by Denise, her late daughter.  When Mrs Dementia is around she often removes my bear from the scene along with my pillow!

If I try to sleep when she is safely tucked up on the sofa I take to the spare room where the Baby Monitor is plugged in as this alerts me if she stirs.  I heard the familiar ‘is it time to go to school yet’ as dawn broke but apart from that we have both slept relatively soundly.

I have a couple of options this morning I can either go to the Leisure Centre or accompany two friends for a late breakfast.  Maureen has talked about having one of her ‘Pamper Days’ with Chloe (Girl Friday) this morning and I’m hoping that things go to plan.  Now there is a really dangerous thought with dementia the elephant in the room!

Today’s Good Music  page is reflective after yet another night in the spare room.

 

 

 

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

