Dementia: Really Positive Signs

Maureen and I had a lovely day together yesterday and this morning has started on a positive note.  We structured our day really well yesterday and reaped the benefit.  Leaving the remaining work on the fence to a handyman helped the morning to get off to a good start: he will finish off my endeavours in the next few days.  This meant I could ease my aching bones in the Spa at the Leisure Centre while Gail kept Maureen entertained.

Gail and Maureen always seem to ‘have a ball’ together: ‘Girl Wednesday’ is a great deal of fun and their friendly banter is often aimed at me.  Just for revenge I created mouth- watering aromas with a vegetarian curry to send Gail off drooling over what she was missing.  If she behaves today, she is I may give her a sample of what she missed.

Our afternoon siesta followed my gastronomic delight: Maureen rested for a couple of hours while I took a breather.  Following tea I moved into my D J mode and Maureen sang like a lark for a couple of hours.  We even phoned up Maureen’s aunty Clarice to play ‘Spot That Tune’: she loved hearing Maureen in jubilant form after experiencing Mrs Dementia in full throttle the previous afternoon.

As the rain eased off around 8.30 pm we took the evening air to blow away the cobwebs.  On our return we watched a couple of episodes of ‘Open All Hours’ on YouTube.  I was dropping off shortly after 10pm but Maureen wanted to watch a little more of Arkwright’s attempts to sort out his love life and eventually joined me in bed an hour later.

I was awake shortly after dawn this morning and got up after providing early morning drinks.   Around 6 am Maureen joined me as I sat at the keyboard wanting to share her fears and anxieties about her poor memory.   As always I have tried to reassure her about the progress she continues to make.  I am hoping that I have steered things in a positive direction with some ideas about how to rebuild her confidence in her ability to recollect. 

One of the things we need to do is replicate yesterday’s structure to our days.  I am hoping that some form of cognitive stimulation in the evening prevents Maureen’s routine of bedding down on the sofa after our evening meal.  All I need to do is work out what might go down well on the night and accept that flexibility is the key to this journey.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dementia: Really Positive Signs

  1. It sounds like you had a lovely day – I am so glad.

    Like

  2. Remember Me says:

    Thanks Jen and yesterday was good too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

