Dementia: Looking Back: Looking Ahead (Week 18)

Maureen continues to be preoccupied with the things that she is unable to remember. Once again this morning she has been saying that she doesn’t know anything about me and can’t remember us getting married. We have been talking about her memory loss for quite some time and our discussions provide food for thought.

I have suggested a number of ways that Maureen might be able to improve her memory including taking advice from those who have expertise in this field.  Although I accept that when Maureen wakes up later in the morning her agenda, if she has one, may have changed.  However, I think it is worth trying to see what happens if I suggest we try to sort out our wedding photos or watch a video of our ‘Big Day’.  The other thing I have suggested is that she tries to write things down that have faded from her memory so she has a point of reference when she can’t recall something.

Maureen had a lovely morning when her son visited yesterday: they sat in the garden chatting while I popped out to the Leisure Centre.  They were still at it almost an hour later when I returned.  Before he arrived Maureen was very nervous; saying she ‘didn’t know what she was going to talk to him about as she didn’t really know him any longer’.  Her brother and sister in law may well visit this week and that should be another opportunity for Maureen to see her family and regain her confidence in the company of other people. With luck I hope to persuade her to make Short Mat Bowls or Social Dancing in the coming week.

The warmer weather always helps and I’m optimistic we will continue to have lots of walks in the coming week.  Maureen still struggles with being left with carers while I pop out for an hour or two but having some sort of respite is essential if I’m to continue to have the energy to be a supportive Care Partner.  I’m hoping that we will manage an overnight stay in Coventry mid-June so I can catch up with several family members.  It would be lovely to see Lisa my eldest daughter on her birthday and I will do my best to make it happen. Just to be on the safe side I will arrange contingency plans in case Maureen doesn’t feel able to make the trip.  

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dementia: Looking Back: Looking Ahead (Week 18)

  1. Mary Smith says:

    There is a positive note in this post which makes me glad things are going as well (maybe even better) than can be expected. Sunshine does help, doesn’t it?

    Like

  2. Remember Me says:

    I think it is important to stay positive Mary and the more sunshine the better at the moment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

