Dementia: Effective Home Treatment

I met with Gilly the manager of the Home Treatment team shortly after noon yesterday.   At my request we met for half an hour and we explored the challenges of my caring role. She helped me to put what had been happening over the last few weeks into context and I left the meeting with a resolve to face what lies ahead with confidence.

We are very fortunate to have such an informed Team of workers on our doorstep.  It is very reassuring that when the going gets tough help is at hand and a ‘rescue remedy’ will be on offer.  What I particularly like about the approach of the Home Treatment Team is their holistic approach to a crisis.  In our case the problem was my exhaustion: it was fuelling the changes in Maureen’s presentation.  This ‘trigger-happy team’ soon sussed out what was going on by looking at causes of our crisis: rather focusing on Maureen’s presentation.

Gilly was very thoughtful in helping me to reflect on what had sparked the crisis.  Her message to me was quite clear: use the additional ‘sits’ that are on offer for ‘me time’; don’t fall into the trap of thinking you can be an effective Care Partner without adequate support.  Although our current crisis is over Gilly made it clear that the door is always open if the going gets tough again.

I hope today’s post will be an acceptable way of registering my comments through the PALS system on the effectiveness of the Home Treatment Team .  We are very fortunate to have such a skilled team of professional staff in North East Lincolnshire: sincere thanks to you all.

 

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dementia: Effective Home Treatment

  1. tom says:

    Paul, your posts are increasingly powerful as a record of your journey. fascinating to outsiders, and valuable to all. keep it up.
    Tom

    Like

Leave a Reply

