Dementia: Not Pulling The Trigger

After the events of early this morning and Maureen’s general discontent with being ‘baby sat’ by carers I have cancelled tonight’s sit.  I fear that going out tonight might just be a red rag to a bull and give Maureen another opportunity to vent her frustration.  I’m hoping that an evening of TLC might be just what the doctor ordered and lead to a good night’s sleep for both of us.

Although I am missing my Buddhist meditation class tonight all is not lost.  I managed to spend a lovely hour this morning watching some amazing teaching by Dekyong the Spiritual Leader of the New Kadampa Tradition in the UK on YouTube.

 I know that Dekyong and others would see my decision as an act of kindness.   Leaving Maureen in the company of a carer tonight would potentially trigger further distress.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

