Dementia: A Small Token Of Gratitude

When Paul Martin my Counsellor suggested blogging I didn’t really know what he was on about.  Nitram a colleague from Talking Point taught me, from a distance, how to dip my feet in the water.  Very soon I found it was just what I needed: a place to share our journey and seek support.

We now have contacts around the world who support us on our journey.  Unfortunately there is not time in my life to meet them all personally and show my appreciation for their support and guidance.  It would be wrong to single out any one in particular but I have to mention Jennifer Tucker for encouraging me to show Gratitude: her Blog is inspiring.

There are several people I need to show gratitude to for yesterday:

Mel, my Admiral Nurse for hearing my cry for help and moving things forward.

‘Hot Liz’: at The Gardens for seeking out Mel whenever I called yesterday.

Natalie: a Mental Health Nurse for witnessing Maureen’s functional capacity and arranging a visit from Dr Kokton today.

Sue: our social worker for arranging additional carer sits.

Staff at Hica: for attempting to arrange additional carer sits.

Liz, at Lloyds’ Pharmacy: for programming the GPS Tracker.

Kate Swaffer: for her wisdom and ongoing support.

Family Members: for their supportive texts and Emails.

Maureen: for her love, patience and courage.

Dekyong: and all my Buddhist friends for their spiritual guidance.

Anyone else: who I may have overlooked who continue to support us on this challenging journey.

Today will be another tough day for Maureen.  Chloe will work her magic in the morning whilst I’m in Grimsby trying to move things forward.  A siesta after lunch will be followed by further assessment by the Home Treatment Team.   It’s not surprising that Maureen ‘wants to go home’ to that beautiful place where dementia didn’t call the shots.

Maureen’s gratitude will be evident on Sunday when her own Songbird will be here.  How she needs some magic from Maeve at the moment.  Tom her dad has been very thoughtful to respond so positively to last night’s request for a visit.  I think I can safely say that Natalie was blown away when we called up Maeve on YouTube for her yesterday!

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

